Piltown A.F.C was first formed in 1947. The founder members
were two brothers, Joseph and Edward Anthony and also Alex 'Jock'
Trainer, an army sergeant native of Donegal. Piltown’s first
match was a friendly against Portlaw. The game ended a draw and
later Piltown were invited to enter a competition in Waterford
called the Inter House league. Next season Piltown were invited
to join the Waterford league, Division 2. Piltown never had one
continuous team, instead it faded in and out of the club scene.
In 1970 a Piltown team called Tower Rovers was formed and for
the first time in many years a Piltown team took part in the Waterford
and District League. In 1977 a second Piltown team called Templeorum
Utd was formed and entered the Kilkenny and District league. Meanwhile
in 1978 Tower Rovers also entered the Kilkenny league. In 1983
Tower Rovers and Templeorum Utd joined and Iverk F.C. was born.
In 1987 Iverk F.C. re-entered the Waterford league and changed
its name to Piltown A.F.C. where it has remained until the present
In 1997 Piltown moved from our long-term rented home of the Showgrounds
to our new grounds at Kildalton Park. In our first 6 years at
our new grounds we have put in an extensive drainage system, resurfaced
playing fields, built a clubhouse and dressing rooms, built an
all-weather field, and are currently floodlighting an entire field.